Français
France
s'inscrire
Conseils d'eurolivre.fr
Livres similaires
Autres livres qui pourraient ressembler au livre recherché:
Outils de recherche
Livre conseillé
Actualités
Publicité
FILTRE
- 0 Résultats
prix le plus bas: 0,75 €, prix le plus élevé: 19,95 €, prix moyen: 10,32 €
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Goolrick, Robert
Livre non disponible
(*)
Goolrick, Robert:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - edition reliée, livre de poche

ISBN: 9781565124813

[ED: Hardcover], [PU: ALGONQUIN BOOKS OF CHAPEL HILL], It was the 1950s, a time of calm, a time when all things were new and everything seemed possible. A few years before, a noble war had been won, and now life had returned to normal. For one little boy, however, life had become anything but "normal." To all appearances, he and his family lived an almost idyllic life. The father was a respected professor, the mother a witty and elegant lady, someone everyone loved. They were parents to three bright, smiling children: two boys and a girl. They lived on a sunny street in a small college town nestled neatly in a leafy valley. They gave parties, hosted picnics, went to church-just like their neighbors. To all appearances, their life seemed ideal. But it was, in fact, "all" appearances. Lineage, tradition, making the right impression-these were matters of great importance, especially to the mother. But behind the facade this family had created lurked secrets so dark, so painful for this one little boy, that his life would never be the same. It is through the eyes of that boy-a grown man now, revisiting that time-that we see this seemingly serene world and watch as it slowly comes completely and irrevocably undone. Beautifully written, often humorous, sometimes sweet, ultimately shocking, this is a son's story of looking back with both love and anger at the parents who gave him life and then robbed him of it, who created his world and then destroyed it. As author Lee Smith, who knew this world and this family, observed, "Alcohol may be the real villain in this pain-permeated, exquisitely written memoir of childhood-but it is also filled with absolutely dead-on social commentary of this very particular time and place. A brave, haunting, riveting book."Versandfertig in über 4 Wochen, [SC: 0.00]

Nouveaux livres Booklooker.de
buecher.de GmbH & Co. KG
Frais d'envoiVersandkostenfrei, Versand nach Deutschland (EUR 0.00)
Details...
(*) Livre non disponible signifie que le livre est actuellement pas disponible à l'une des plates-formes associées nous recherche.
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Robert Goolrick
Livre non disponible
(*)
Robert Goolrick:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - livre d'occasion

ISBN: 1565124812

ID: 3970797

It was the 1950s, a time of calm, a time when all things were new and everything seemed possible. A few years before, a noble war had been won, and now life had returned to normal. For one little boy, however, life had become anything but "normal." To all appearances, he and his family lived an almost idyllic life. The father was a respected professor, the mother a witty and elegant lady, someone everyone loved. They were parents to three bright, smiling children: two boys and a girl. They lived on a sunny street in a small college town nestled neatly in a leafy valley. They gave parties, hosted picnics, went to church-just like their neighbors. To all appearances, their life seemed ideal. But it was, in fact, all appearances. Lineage, tradition, making the right impression-these were matters of great importance, especially to the mother. But behind the facade this family had created lurked secrets so dark, so painful for this one little boy, that his life would never be the same. It is through the eyes of that boy-a grown man now, revisiting that time-that we see this seemingly serene world and watch as it slowly comes completely and irrevocably undone. Beautifully written, often humorous, sometimes sweet, ultimately shocking, this is a son's story of looking back with both love and anger at the parents who gave him life and then robbed him of it, who created his world and then destroyed it. As author Lee Smith, w biographies,death and grief,dysfunctional relationships,family relationships,grief and bereavement,memoirs,self-help Grief & Bereavement, Algonquin Books

livre d'occasion Thriftbooks.com
used Frais d'envoizzgl. Versandkosten, Livraison non-comprise
Details...
(*) Livre non disponible signifie que le livre est actuellement pas disponible à l'une des plates-formes associées nous recherche.
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Robert Goolrick
Livre non disponible
(*)
Robert Goolrick:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - edition reliée, livre de poche

2007, ISBN: 1565124812

ID: 6775074642

[EAN: 9781565124813], Gebraucht, wie neu, [PU: Algonquin Books], Biography & Autobiography|Personal Memoirs, Only slightly differentiated from a new book. Undamaged cover and spine. Pages may display light wear but no marks.

livre d'occasion Abebooks.de
Green Earth Books, Portland, OR, U.S.A. [3961782] [Rating: 5 (von 5)]
NOT NEW BOOK Frais d'envoi EUR 7.13
Details...
(*) Livre non disponible signifie que le livre est actuellement pas disponible à l'une des plates-formes associées nous recherche.
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Robert Goolrick
Livre non disponible
(*)
Robert Goolrick:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - nouveau livre

ISBN: 9781565124813

ID: 9781565124813

The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life Author :Robert Goolrick 9781565124813 1565124812, [PU: Algonquin Books]

Nouveaux livres printsasia.de
new Frais d'envoi EUR 0.00
Details...
(*) Livre non disponible signifie que le livre est actuellement pas disponible à l'une des plates-formes associées nous recherche.
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - Robert Goolrick
Livre non disponible
(*)
Robert Goolrick:
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life - nouveau livre

ISBN: 9781565124813

ID: 172864121

NA World, Workman Publishing Company Inc

Nouveaux livres Printsasia
new Frais d'envoizzgl. Versandkosten, Livraison non-comprise
Details...
(*) Livre non disponible signifie que le livre est actuellement pas disponible à l'une des plates-formes associées nous recherche.

Détails sur le livre
The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life

In the tradition of Mary Karr's "The Liars' Club" and Rick Bragg's "All Over but the Shoutin'," Robert Goolrick has crafted a classic memoir of childhood and the secrets hidden in a heart that can't forget. In the Goolrick home there was a law: Never talk about the family in the outside world, never reveal the slightest crack in the facade. In "The End of the World as We Know It," the author takes us back to the seemingly idyllic world his father and mother created in their home in a small Southern college town, a world of gentle men and lovely ladies and cocktails and party dresses-- a world being eroded by a family history of alcoholism. As Goolrick grew to be a man, his childhood held memories that would not let go, memories that held a secret that followed him wherever he went, defining and directing his days. Over time, the secret grew so big it threatened to rip the world apart. And then it did. With devastating honesty and razor-sharp wit, he looks back with love, and with anger, at the parents who both created his world and destroyed it. As Lee Smith (author of "On Agate Hill") observed, " Alcohol may be the real villain in this pain-permeated, exquisitely written memoir of a Virginia childhood-- but it is also filled with absolutely dead-on social commentary of this very particular time and place. A brave, haunting, riveting book."

Informations détaillées sur le livre - The End of the World as We Know It: Scenes from a Life


EAN (ISBN-13): 9781565124813
ISBN (ISBN-10): 1565124812
Version reliée
Date de parution: 2007
Editeur: ALGONQUIN BOOKS OF CHAPEL HILL
213 Pages
Poids: 0,404 kg
Langue: eng/Englisch

Livre dans la base de données depuis 29.05.2007 04:24:32
Livre trouvé récemment le 08.12.2016 18:33:08
ISBN/EAN: 1565124812

ISBN - Autres types d'écriture:
1-56512-481-2, 978-1-56512-481-3


< pour archiver...
Livres en relation